SEC Football News on Saturday Down South

Johnny Football makes history at the Heisman

NEW: Follow on facebook -


Johnny Manziel did something that Michael Vick, Adrian Peterson, Herschel Walker or any other college freshman never did: win the Heisman Trophy as a freshman.

That place in history now belongs to Manziel; it’s a rarefied air that no one in the history of the game can claim.

It’s icing on the cake for the biggest single season for a quarterback ever in the SEC. Manziel set a record in the SEC with 4,600 total yards and totaled 43 touchdowns.

Manziel beat out two seniors in Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te’o and Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein.

Johnny Manziel is the second Johnny to win the Heisman, joining Johnny Rodgers (Nebraska, 1972). He became Texas A&M’s second Heisman winner and the SEC’s 11th winner.

SEC Heisman Winners:

1942 Frank Sinkwich, HB, Georgia
1959 Billy Cannon, HB, LSU
1966 Steve Spurrier, QB, Florida
1971 Pat Sullivan, QB, Auburn
1982 Herschel Walker, HB, Georgia
1985 Bo Jackson, HB, Auburn
1996 Danny Wuerrfel, QB, Florida
2007 Tim Tebow, QB, Florida
2009 Mark Ingram, RB, Alabama
2010 Cam Newton, QB, Auburn
2012 Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M

Photo Credit: Jerry Lai-USA TODAY Sports

"Thank you for making it so easy to keep up with my team.
You provide SEC fans with an amazing, free service!"

Stay connected

Comments 5

  1. JakeT
    Commented : 1 year ago


  2. He deserved it. We all know it.

  3. I can’t wait to see Johnny play the next couple years. And I always love seeing Steve Spurrier on that Heisman list

  4. 1980 George Rogers, HB, South Carolina

    • George Rogers isn’t on the list because he didn’t play in the SEC as SC was an independent then. Same for John David Crow of Texas A&M in 1957. The Aggies were in the SWC then.