SEC coordinator of officials Steve Shaw said Alabama defensive lineman Quinton Dial should have been penalized for his hit on Aaron Murray in the SEC Championship game.
After reviewing the footage, Mike Slive will decide on whether Dial will be suspended in the national championship because of the hit, Shaw said. Slive has already suspended two players for one full game because of helmet-to-helmet shots earlier this season.
The hit took place in the first half after an Aaron Murray interception by HaHa Clinton-Dix. During the return, Dial hammered Murray in a helmet-to-helmet contact that left Murray de-cleated.
Here’s the play in question:
AL.com had the story today on Shaw’s reaction.
“We missed the call,” Shaw said.
“As you’ve noticed, Commissioner has been vigilant on this and he did it (suspend players) when warranted and didn’t when it wasn’t,” Shaw said. “I’m not sure the upcoming opponent is ever a condition in the decision. I think it’s more based on the facts in the play.
“By rule, you can’t hit a defenseless player above the shoulders,” Shaw said. “What the determination needs to be is was this a defenseless player and was contact initiated above the shoulders? When we go through video review of it, that’s what we’ll have to determine. And then you as you break it down, did he lead with the head or lead with the shoulder? From game action, it was a personal foul regardless of how we break it down frame by frame.”
It was indeed a vicious hit, and it appears to be helmet-to-helmet. It would have been justified as a personal foul on the play at game speed.
As a quarterback, you’re taught to keep your head on a swivel after an interception, and Murray let his guard down. Glad Murray was okay and glad he was able to come back in the football game.
Do you think there should have been a penalty called on Dial during the game? Furthermore, should Slive bring down punishment on Dial and suspend him for the national championship?
Photo Credit: Kelly Lambert-USA TODAY Sports