Several SEC players took home hardware last night

Several SEC players took home hardware last night

NEW: Follow on facebook -

The Home Depot College Football Awards were held in Orlando last night, and several SEC players brought home some awards.  The biggest winner of the night belonged to Manti Te’o from Notre Dame.

Here are the winners, with SEC players in bold:

Maxwell Award (College Player of the Year)
Manti Te’o, Sr. Notre Dame

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award (Nation’s Best Quarterback):
Johnny Manziel, Fr. Texas A&M

Jim Thorpe Award (Nation’s Outstanding Defensive Back):
Johnthan Banks, Sr. Mississippi State

Biletnikoff Award (Nation’s Outstanding Receiver):
Marqise Lee, So. USC

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award (Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker):
Cairo Santos, Jr. Tulane

Chuck Bednarik Award (College Defensive Player of the Year):
Manti Te’o, Sr. Notre Dame

Outland Trophy (Nation’s Outstanding Interior Lineman):
Luke Joeckel, Jr. Texas A&M

Doak Walker Award (Nation’s Outstanding Running Back):
Montee Ball, Sr. Wisconsin

Ray Guy Award (Nation’s Outstanding Punter)
Ryan Allen, La Tech

Other awards already handed out:

  • Manti Te’o won Walter Camp Player of the Year – makes four awards after already winning the Butkus, Lombardi and Nagurski Awards.
  • Collin Klein won Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award.
  • Tyler Eifert (Notre Dame) won Mackey Award.
  • Jadeveon Clowney won the Hendricks Award.
  • Barrett Jones took home Campbell Trophy.

"Thank you for making it so easy to keep up with my team.
You provide SEC fans with an amazing, free service!"

Stay connected

Comments 2

  1. Hi, Jon. I think you missed one SEC award winner. Alabama’s Barrett Jones also took the 2012 Remington award as that nation’s top center. I believe he’s one of only two people two have won both the Remington and the Outland.That second person was Dave Remington, the Nebraska they named the award after. Thanks.

  2. JJ should have won the Bednarik at least.