Two former SEC players elected into College Football Hall of Fame


Former Florida quarterback and Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel and former Kentucky defensive end Steve Meilinger were elected into the 2013 College Football Hall of Fame class today.

Wuerffel played at Florida from 1993-1996 and was an All-American in ‘95 and ‘96. Wuerffel still holds SEC records of 10,875 career passing yards and 114 touchdowns. He helped lead Florida to the ‘96 national championship win.

Steve Meilinger played end for Kentucky from 1951-1953 and became a first-round pick in 1954. He played under Bear Bryant while at Kentucky and went on to play six seasons in the NFL with Washington, Green Bay and Pittsburgh.

Former players elected:

  • Ted Brown, RB, NC State
  • Tedy Bruschi, DE, Arizona
  • Ron Dayne, RB, Wisconsin
  • Tommie Frazier, QB, Nebraska
  • Jerry Gray, DB, Texas
  • Orlando Pace, OL, Ohio State
  • Rod Shoate, LB, Oklahoma
  • Percy Snow, LB, Michigan State
  • Vinny Testaverde, QB, Miami
  • Don Trull, QB, Baylor

Former coaches elected:

  • Wayne Hardin, Navy
  • Bill McCartney, Colorado

The obvious noticeable snub again was former Alabama defensive end Derrick Thomas. Thomas once had a college football record 27 sacks in a single season and 52 sacks for his career. Does anyone understand the College Football Hall of Fame’s rationale?

Photo Credit: Matt Cashore-USA TODAY Sports



You must be logged in to post a comment. Please sign in or register

Continue scrolling for more articles.