Five from SEC named to Lott Trophy watch list, Clowney not included


You know we’re close to 100 days until football when preseason award watch lists are released.

And five from the SEC were named to the Lott IMPACT Trophy watch list, given to college football’s Defensive IMPACT player of the Year. But for this particular list, it was more about who wasn’t on it: Jadeveon Clowney. Yes, college football’s biggest defensive animal and Heisman candidate isn’t even on the initial watch list release. How did that happen?

There were a total of 42 nominees on the list, and eight of the 42 were defensive linemen. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity, both on the field and off it. So, which part Clowney doesn’t qualify for is what I want to know.

Here are the five who were included:

  • Chase Garnham, LB, Vanderbilt
  • AJ Johnson, LB, Tennessee
  • CJ Mosley, LB, Alabama
  • DT Shackelford, LB, Ole Miss
  • Avery Williamson, LB, Kentucky

Photo Credit: Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports



You must be logged in to post a comment. Please sign in or register

Continue scrolling for more articles.