SEC will be well represented in NFL playoffs


The NFL playoffs start this weekend with the Wildcard round, and I know you’ll be tuning in to see the blood, sweat and tears that lead us right into the BCS National Championship game Monday night.

The Pro Bowl selections recently revealed that the SEC had the highest number of players selected from any one conference, too.

Combined among the 12 playoff teams, there are 136 former SEC players listed on the rosters. Some won’t play due to injuries.  Good luck to all of them.

Atlanta Falcons (16)

  • WR Julio Jones, Alabama
  • TE Chase Coffman, Missouri
  • C Todd McClure, LSU
  • G Mike Johnson, Alabama
  • DE John Abraham, South Carolina
  • DE Cliff Matthews, South Carolina
  • DT Corey Peters, Kentucky
  • DT Peria Jerry, Ole Miss
  • DT Travian Robertson, South Carolina
  • LB Akeem Dent, Georgia
  • LB Mike Peterson, Florida
  • LB Sean Witherspoon, Missouri
  • CB Dunta Robinson, South Carolina
  • S Charles Mitchell, Miss State
  • S William Moore, Missouri
  • LS Josh Harris, Auburn

Baltimore Ravens (11)

  • WR Deonte Thompson, Florida
  • G Bobbie Williams, Arkansas
  • OT Michael Oher, Ole Miss
  • DE Pernell McPhee, Miss State
  • DE DeAngelo Tyson, Georgia
  • NT Terrence Cody, Alabama
  • LB Josh Byrnes, Auburn
  • LB Dannell Ellerbe, Georgia
  • LB Courtney Upshaw, Alabama
  • S Emanuel Cook, South Carolina
  • LS Morgan Cox, Tennessee

Cincinnati Bengals (18)

  • RB BenJarvus Green-Ellis, Ole Miss
  • FB John Conner, Kentucky
  • WR AJ Green, Georgia
  • TE Orson Charles, Georgia
  • OG Clint Boling, Georgia
  • OT Dennis Roland, Georgia
  • OT Andre Smith, Alabama
  • OT Andrew Whitworth, LSU
  • OG Travelle Wharton, South Carolina
  • DE Jamaal Anderson, Arkansas
  • DE Carlos Dunlap, Florida
  • DE Robert Geathers, Georgia
  • DE Wallace Gilberry, Alabama
  • DT Geno Atkins, Georgia
  • DT Pat Sims, Auburn
  • CB Jason Allen, Tennessee
  • CB Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama
  • S Reggie Nelson, Florida

Denver Broncos (16)

  • QB Peyton Manning, Tennessee
  • RB Mario Fannin, Auburn
  • RB Knowshon Moreno, Georgia
  • FB Jacob Hester, LSU
  • WR Andre Caldwell, Florida
  • WR Trindon Holliday, LSU
  • TE Jacob Tamme, Kentucky
  • OG Quentin Saulsberry, Miss State
  • DE Robert Ayers, Tennessee
  • DE Malik Jackson, Tennessee
  • DE Ty Warren, Texas A&M
  • LB Von Miller, Texas A&M
  • LB Danny Trevathan, Kentucky
  • LB Wesley Woodyard, Kentucky
  • CB Champ Bailey, Georgia
  • P Britton Colquitt, Tennessee

Green Bay Packers (7)

  • WR Randall Cobb, Kentucky
  • P Time Masthay, Kentucky
  • TE DJ Williams, Arkansas
  • OT Derek Sherrod, Miss State
  • CB Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt
  • S Sean Richardson, Vanderbilt
  • LS Brett Goode, Arkansas

Houston Texans (9)

  • RB Arian Foster, Tennessee
  • RB Ben Tate, Auburn
  • C Ben Jones, Georgia
  • OG Antione Caldwell, Alabama
  • LB Bradie James, LSU
  • CB Kareem Jackson, Alabama
  • CB Johnathan Joseph, South Carolina
  • PK Randy Bullock, Texas A&M
  • P Donnie Jones, LSU

Indianapolis Colts (9)

  • RB Vick Ballard, Miss State
  • TE Weslye Saunders, South Carolina
  • OT Bradley Sowell, Ole Miss
  • DE Clifton Geathers, South Carolina
  • DT Josh Chapman, Alabama
  • DT Drake Nevis, LSU
  • NT Antonio Johnson, Miss State
  • CB Jerraud Powers, Auburn
  • CB Cassius Vaughn, Ole Miss

Minnesota Vikings (9)

  • WR Devin Aromashodu, Auburn
  • WR Greg Childs, Arkansas
  • WR Percy Harvin, Florida
  • WR Jarius Wright, Arkansas
  • OT DeMarcus Love, Arkansas
  • LB Jasper Brinkley, South Carolina
  • LB Marvin Mitchell, Tennessee
  • S Jamarca Sanford, Ole Miss
  • PK Blair Walsh, Georgia

New England Patriots (13)

  • QB Ryan Mallett, Arkansas
  • RB Brandon Bolden, Ole Miss
  • RB Stevan Ridley, LSU
  • WR Donte’ Stallworth, Tennessee
  • TE Aaron Hernandez, Florida
  • DE Jake Bequette, Arkansas
  • DE Brandon Deaderick, Alabama
  • DT Kyle Love, Miss State
  • DT Myron Pryor, Kentucky
  • LB Jermaine Cunningham, Florida
  • LB Dont’a Hightower, Alabama
  • LB Jerod Mayo, Tennessee
  • LB Brandon Spikes, Florida

San Francisco 49ers (11)

  • RB Anthony Dixon, Miss State
  • TE Demarcus Dobbs, Georgia
  • DE Tony Jerod-Eddie, Texas A&M
  • DT Ricky Jean Francois, LSU
  • DT Ray McDonald, Florida
  • DT Justin Smith, Missouri
  • LB Parys Haralson, Tennessee
  • LB Aldon Smith, Missouri
  • LB Patrick Willis, Ole Miss
  • CB Chris Culliver, South Carolina
  • CB Carlos Rodgers, Auburn

Seattle Seahawks (9)

  • QB Matt Flynn, LSU
  • WR Ben Obomanu, Auburn
  • WR Sidney Rice, South Carolina
  • OG Lemuel Jeanpierre, South Carolina
  • DE Red Bryant, Texas A&M
  • DE Chris Clemons, Georgia
  • DT Jaye Howard, Florida
  • LB KJ Wright, Miss State
  • S Winston Guy, Kentucky

Washington Redskins (8)

  • QB Rex Grossman, Florida
  • RB Tristan Davis, Auburn
  • RB Keiland Williams, LSU
  • WR Darius Hanks, Alabama
  • OG Maurice Hurt, Florida
  • DE Kedric Golston, Georgia
  • LB Perry Riley, LSU
  • S Jordan Pugh, Texas A&M

Photo Credit: Daniel Shirey-USA TODAY Sports



You must be logged in to post a comment. Please sign in or register

Continue scrolling for more articles.