SEC Football News on Saturday Down South

Eight SEC QBs listed in 50 best from BCS era

NEW: Follow on facebook -

Three of the top 50 BCS quarterbacks still haven’t concluded their collegiate career yet, according to Athlon Sports.

AJ McCarron, Aaron Murray and Johnny Manziel are listed among the top 50, with five former SEC quarterbacks joining them.

Surprisingly, Texas’ Vince Young is No. 1 on the list, not Tim Tebow.

Remember, the BCS started in 1998, and here are the eight who are included:

  • No. 2: Tim Tebow (Florida)
  • No. 7: AJ McCarron (Alabama)
  • No. 16 Cam Newton (Auburn/Florida)
  • No. 19 Chris Leak (Florida)
  • No. 22 Eli Manning (Ole Miss)
  • No. 30 Aaron Murray (Georgia)
  • No. 31 David Greene (Georgia)
  • No. 36 Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M)

Tebow’s 145 career touchdowns aren’t good enough to be No. 1? I would also have Aaron Murray much higher on the list, too, considering he’s dominated stat sheets with over 10,000 passing yards and 95 touchdowns. Murray will own nearly every Georgia and SEC passing record after 2013.

AJ McCarron is ranked about right. Most are quick to point out the ‘lack’ of stats, but I will point out his 25-2 career record and two national championships. What if he wins another championship in 2013?

Photo Credit: Eileen Blass-USA TODAY Sports

"Thank you for making it so easy to keep up with my team.
You provide SEC fans with an amazing, free service!"

Stay connected

Comment 1

  1. Chris Leak at #19??? Ok, he has one MNC…..but still.