Ranking the SEC’s BCS Championship winners: 2003 LSU Tigers


SEC’s BCS Championship Teams:

#7 SEC BCS Championship team

2003 LSU Tigers (13-1)

Head coach: Nick Saban
Offensive coordinator: Jimbo Fisher
Defensive coordinator: Will Muschamp
Average margin of victory: 22.9 PPG
FBS’ opponents record: 88-79 (.527)
Wins vs. Top 25 teams in final AP Poll (5): #3 Oklahoma, #7 Georgia (twice), #13 Ole Miss, #24 Florida
Key stats: 33.9 PPG offense (#19 CFB), 11 PPG defense (#1 CFB)
1st and 2nd round draft picks: Michael Clayton (1st), Devery Henderson (2nd), Marquise Hill (2nd), Marcus Spears (1st), Joseph Addai (1st), LaRon Landry (1st), Chris Davis (1st), Dwayne Bowe (1st), Corey Webster (2nd), Andrew Whitworth (2nd)

Team buzz: Nick Saban’s first national championship had only one lone blunder to an eight-win Florida, and this championship was built around what Saban is known for: a dominant defense. The Tigers held opponents to 11 points per game and 252 yards of offense the entire season.

QB Matt Mauck (2,825 yards, 28 TDs) guided the offense, while RBs Justin Vincent (1,029 yards, 10 TDs) and Joseph Addai (546 yards) ran it down teams’ throats. But neither position was as talented as the wide receiving corps, which is one of the deepest in SEC history. Michael Clayton (1,079 yards, 10 TDs), Devery Henderson (861 yards, 11 TDs) and Skyler Green (519 yards, 5 TDs) led the talented receiving corps.

LSU beat Oklahoma 21-14, giving the Tigers their first championship since 1958. There were three one-loss teams in 2003 in LSU, Oklahoma and USC, and the computers placed LSU and Oklahoma in the championship, while USC was on the outside looking in. It’s a shame we didn’t get to see LSU and USC battle for the top.

Team Schedule

Aug. 30: LSU 49, UL Monroe 7 (Baton Rouge)
Sept. 6: LSU 59, Arizona 13 (Tucson)
Sept. 13: LSU 35, Western Illinois 7 (Baton Rouge)
Sept. 20: LSU 17, #7 Georgia 10 (Baton Rouge)
Sept. 27: LSU 41, Mississippi State 6 (Starkville)
Oct. 11: Florida 19, LSU 7 (Baton Rouge)
Oct. 18: LSU 33, South Carolina 7 (Columbia)
Oct. 25: LSU 31, #17 Auburn 7 (Baton Rouge)
Nov. 1: LSU 49, Louisiana Tech 10 (Baton Rouge)
Nov. 15: LSU 27, Alabama 3 (Tuscaloosa)
Nov. 22: LSU 17, #15 Ole Miss 14 (Oxford)
Nov. 28: LSU 55, Arkansas 24 (Baton Rouge)
Dec. 6: LSU 34, #5 Georgia 13 (SEC CG, Atlanta)
Jan. 4: LSU 21, #3 Oklahoma 14 (BCS NCG, New Orleans)

Offensive starters

  • QB Matt Mauck
  • RB Justin Vincent
  • WR Michael Clayton
  • WR Devery Henderson
  • WR Skyler Green
  • TE Eric Edwards
  • LT Andrew Whitworth
  • LG Nate Livings
  • C Ben Wilkerson
  • RG Stephen Peterman
  • RT Rodney Reed

Defensive starters

  • DE Marcus Spears
  • DT Kyle Williams
  • DT Chad Lavalais
  • DE Marquise Hill
  • LB Eric Alexander
  • LB Lionel Turner
  • CB Corey Webster
  • CB Travis Daniels
  • FS Randall Gay
  • FS Laron Landry
  • SS Jack Hunt

Photo Credit: Derick E. Hingle-US PRESSWIRE



You must be logged in to post a comment. Please sign in or register

Continue scrolling for more articles.