Three former players from SEC teams officially inducted into College Football Hall of Fame


It was reported yesterday that former Alabama linebacker Derrick Thomas would be officially inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. That happened today.

Along with Derrick Thomas, former South Carolina receiver Sterling Sharpe and Ole Miss tight end Wesley Walls were also inducted.

Fourteen total players and two head coaches are headed to the College Football Hall of Fame. Here’s a look at the players, with the coaches at the very end:

  • Dre Bly, CB, North Carolina
  • Tony Boselli, OT, USC
  • Dave Butz, DT, Purdue
  • Shane Conlan, LB, Penn State
  • Joe Hamilton, QB, Georgia Tech
  • John Huard, LB, Maine
  • Darrin Nelson, RB, Stanford
  • Willie Roaf, OT, Louisiana Tech
  • John Sciarra, QB, UCLA
  • Sterling Sharpe, WR, South Carolina
  • Leonard Smith, CB, McNeese State
  • Derrick Thomas, LB, Alabama
  • LaDanian Tomlinson, RB, TCU
  • Wesley Walls, TE, Ole Miss
  • Mike Belloti, HC Chico State and Oregon
  • Jerry Moore, HC Appalachian State, North Texas and Texas Tech

From the NFF website: “To be eligible for the ballot, players must have been named a first-team All-American by a major/national selector as recognized and utilized by the NCAA for their consensus All-America teams; played their last year of intercollegiate football at least 10 years prior; played within the last 50 years and cannot be currently playing professional football. Coaches must have coached a minimum of 10 years and 100 games as a head coach; won at least 60 percent of their games; and be retired from coaching for at least three years. If a coach is retired and over the age of 70, there is no waiting period. If he is over the age of 75, he is eligible as an active coach. In both cases, the candidate’s post-football record as a citizen may also be weighed.”

The official induction will be December 9.



You must be logged in to post a comment. Please sign in or register

Continue scrolling for more articles.