10 former SEC players named to NFL All-Rookie Team


Pro Football Writers of America unveiled their NFL All-Rookie Team, and 10 former SEC players made the team.

RELATED: 57 former SEC players on teams playing for AFC & NFC Championships

Former Alabama running back Eddie Lacy picked right up where he left off torching Notre Dame and became the NFL’s Rookie of the Year. And, yes, the spin move was a major part of his arsenal. Who would have thought Lacy would have outplayed both Mark Ingram and Trent Richardson? Guilty as charged.

Truly, former Tennessee receiver Cordarrelle Patterson is one of the league’s most exciting players. Once he hones his raw skills and learns how to play the receiver position, he’s going to be unstoppable…he may already be.

Here are the 10 former SEC players who were named to the NFL All-Rookie Team:

  • RB: Eddie Lacy, Green Bay (Alabama)
  • TE: Jordan Reed, Washington (Florida)
  • OG: Larry Warford, Detroit (Kentucky)
  • OT: DJ Fluker, San Diego (Alabama)
  • DT: Sheldon Richardson, New York Jets (Missouri)
  • LB: Alec Ogletree, St. Louis (Georgia)
  • CB: Tyrann Mathieu, Arizona (LSU)
  • S: Eric Reid, San Francisco (LSU)
  • PK: Caleb Sturgis, Miami (Florida)
  • KR: Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota (Tennessee)

Photo Credit: Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports



You must be logged in to post a comment. Please sign in or register

Continue scrolling for more articles.