SEC Football News on Saturday Down South

Seven SEC commits named Gatorade State Players of the Year

NEW: Follow on facebook -

SEC fans had another reason to pound their chests this week, as the Gatorade Player of the Year state awards were handed out–and seven current commitments were named state players of the year.

Related: Ranking the SEC wide receiver commits

And if one adds in Leonard Fournette, who is from Louisiana and is a serious LSU lean, you can make it eight of the awards for the SEC.

When one takes into account that several state players of the year won’t play Division I football (Alaska, Vermont, etc.), some are uncommitted, and there are another 100 or so Division I schools vying for the rest of these elite players, etc etc, it makes the mark of eight SEC kids even more impressive. Tennessee had two of them to lead the pack–with Todd Kelly Jr. winning the state of Tennessee’s honor, and D’Andre Payne winning the District of Columbia’s.

Arkansas native and Razorbacks QB commit Ty Storey, the only junior among the SEC commits to win the honor, summed it up for the entire group:

“I feel honored to win this award but at the same time I’m focused on finishing this year strong,” Storey told Saturday Down South. “I know without the hard work of my teammates and coaches this wouldn’t be possible. Again I’m very humbled and honored to receive this award. The Arkansas fans have always been very supportive of me. I appreciate their support.”

Related: SEC’s top dual-threat QB commits

Here’s a list of the state winners with SEC ties:

Alabama Racean  Thomas RB Oxford HS Oxford Auburn
Arkansas Ty Storey QB Charleston Charleston Arkansas
D.C. D’Andre Payne CB/WR H.D. Woodson Washington Tennessee
Florida Sony Michel RB American Heritage Plantation Georgia
Louisiana Leonard Fournette RB St. Augustine New Orleans *LSU or Alabama
Mississippi Devin Voorhies Qb/S Wilkinson County Woodville LSU
North Carolina Will Grier QB Davidson Day Davidson Florida
Tennessee Todd Kelly Jr. S/RB Webb School Knoxville Tennessee

Related: SEC’s 2015 class is already LOADED

"Thank you for making it so easy to keep up with my team.
You provide SEC fans with an amazing, free service!"

Stay connected

Comments 2

  1. You forgot Paul Adams heading to Mizzou! Mr. Football in Tennessee.

    • Koomany, this is the Gatorade state honor — only one kid per state (Tennessee recognizes one for each class for its own Mr Football award, sponsored by the Titans). Todd Kelly won it in Tennessee!