13 SEC players named to Maxwell Award watch list

The watch list for the Maxwell Award, presented by the Maxwell Football Club and given annually to the national player of the year in college football, has been released and it includes several noteworthy players from the SEC. The Maxwell recipient often differs from the Heisman Trophy winner and has been presented annually since 1937.

RELATED: Bednarik Award watch list loaded with SEC players

Alabama leads the way on the 76-player list with four nominees. Last season, Crimson Tide quarterback A.J. McCarron became the first player in school history to win the award.

In addition, four SEC players were named to the Paul Hornung watch list on Monday. South Carolina’s Pharoh Cooper, Alabama’s Christion Jones, Mississippi State’s Jameon Lewis and Marcus Murphy from Missouri each have a shot at being college football’s most versatile player in 2014.

SEC players on the 2014 Maxwell Award watch list

Alabama: Amari Cooper, WR; Jacob Coker, QB; T.J. Yeldon, RB; Derrick Henry, RB

Arkansas: Alex Collins, RB; Jonathan Williams, RB

Auburn: Sammie Coates, WR; Nick Marshall, QB

Florida: Jeff Driskel, QB

Georgia: Todd Gurley, RB

Mississippi: Bo Wallace, QB

Mississippi State: Dak Prescott, QB

South Carolina: Mike Davis, RB

Maxwell Award winners since 2003

2013A.J. McCarronAlabama226 Cmp, 336 Att, 3063 Yds, 28 TD, 7 Int
2012Manti Te’oNotre Dame55 Solo, 58 Ast, 1.5 Sk, 7 Int
2011Andrew LuckStanford288 Cmp, 404 Att, 3517 Yds, 37 TD, 10 Int
2010Cam NewtonAuburn185 Cmp, 280 Att, 2854 Yds, 30 TD, 7 Int
2009Colt McCoyTexas332 Cmp, 470 Att, 3521 Yds, 27 TD, 12 Int
2008Tim TebowFlorida192 Cmp, 298 Att, 2746 Yds, 30 TD, 4 Int
2007Tim TebowFlorida234 Cmp, 350 Att, 3286 Yds, 32 TD, 6 Int
2006Brady QuinnNotre Dame289 Cmp, 467 Att, 3426 Yds, 37 TD, 7 Int
2005Vince YoungTexas212 Cmp, 325 Att, 3036 Yds, 26 TD, 10 Int
2004Jason WhiteOklahoma255 Cmp, 390 Att, 3205 Yds, 35 TD, 9 Int
2003Eli ManningMississippi275 Cmp, 441 Att, 3600 Yds, 29 TD, 10 Int