SEC sophomores head Mackey Award watch list; Rimington adds two players

Seven SEC players including three sophomores are featured on the watch list for the John Mackey Award, an honor presented annually to college football’s most outstanding tight end. Alabama’s O.J. Howard, Hunter Henry from Arkansas and Mississippi’s Evan Engram made up a third of all sophomore nominees on the 38-player list.

After releasing its spring watch list in May, the Rimington Trophy Committee announced the addition of two players on Tuesday — Idaho’s Mike Marboe and Texas-San Antonio’s Nate Leonard. The 66-player watch list includes 2013 finalist Reese Dismukes from Auburn. He’s one of 10 SEC nominees up for the award given to the nation’s top center.

Florida’s Jake McGee is a noticeable Mackey Award omission, a fifth-year senior who recently transferred from Virginia. McGee’s caught 71 passes for 769 yards and seven touchdowns over the past two seasons. He’s poised for a big year with the Gators under offensive coordinator Kurt Roper, a coach who has had his eye on McGee since his days on staff at Duke.

John Mackey Award watch list SEC representatives

O.J. Howard, Soph., Alabama
Hunter Henry, Soph., Arkansas
Evan Engram, Soph., Ole Miss
C.J. Uzomah, Sr., Auburn
Rory Anderson, Sr., South Carolina
Jay Rome, Jr., Georgia
Malcolm Johnson, Sr., Mississippi State