One of the greatest joys in college football is witnessing the journey of a walk-on who becomes an integral player for a program.

The Burlsworth Trophy committee, tasked with awarding the annual prize to the nation’s most outstanding player who began as a walk-on, announced the 10 semifinalists for 2022. Two SEC players made the cut: LSU running back Josh Williams and Georgia quarterback Stetson Bennett.

The other players are Buffalo linebacker Shaun Dolac, BYU linebacker Payton Wilgar, Charlotte quarterback Chris Reynolds, Oregon offensive lineman Ryan Walk, Purdue quarterback Aidan O’Connell, Troy linebacker Carlton Martial, and Wisconsin safety John Torchio.

Williams, a 5-foot-9 junior, has rushed for 359 yards and 5 touchdowns while averaging 4.9 yards per carry this season.  Williams’ best game this season was against Florida on Oct. 15. In that victory, he rushed for 106 yards on 14 carries with a long of 50.

The 5-foot-11 Bennett has passed for 2,606 yards, 11 touchdowns and 3 interceptions, along with a QBR of 86.6. The senior has thrown for at least 300 yards in 4 contests and at least 2 touchdown passes in 5 games this season.

The Burlsworth Trophy winner will be named on Dec. 5 at 8 p.m. ET.