The Alabama Crimson Tide and Georgia Bulldogs each placed 3 players on the watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award, which is given each year to the best defensive player in college football.

Alabama junior linebacker Will Anderson, who finished fifth in the 2021 Heisman Trophy voting, joins senior defensive back Jordan Battle and linebacker Henry To’o To’o on the list.

Georgia defensive back Kelee Ringo is one of just 8 sophomores on the list. Junior defensive lineman Jalen Carter and senior linebacker Nolan Smith are the other Bulldogs on the list.

Clemson is the only other school with 3 players on the watch list.

All told, there are 17 SEC players and 11 conference schools represented on the list.

The Chuck Bednarik Award is presented by the Maxwell Football Club. Georgia defensive tackle Jordan Davis won the award in 2021. Previous SEC winners include Alabama cornerback Minkah Fitzpatrick (2017) and Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen (2018).

Below is the full list of SEC players.

Alabama: LB Will Anderson, S Jordan Battle, LB Henry To’o To’o
Arkansas: LB Bumper Pool, S Jalen Catalon
Auburn: DE Colby Wooden, DE Derick Hall
Florida: LB Brenton Cox
Georgia: DT Jalen Carter, LB Nolan Smith, CB Kelee Ringo
LSU: DE B.J. Ojulari
Mississippi State: CB Emmanuel Forbes
Missouri: DE Isaiah McGuire
South Carolina: CB Cam Smith
Texas A&M: DB Antonio Johnson
Vanderbilt: LB Anfernee Onji