Robert Griffin III recently announced his top 4 Heisman Trophy frontrunners heading into Championship Weekend.

Griffin, who won the Heisman during the 2011 season as Baylor’s star quarterback, picked LSU’s Jayden Daniels as his top choice. Daniels was followed by Oregon’s Bo Nix, Washington’s Michael Penix Jr. and Alabama’s Jalen Milroe.

Daniels has 3,812 passing yards, 40 TDs and four INTs. The senior is also LSU’s leading rusher, running for 1,134 yards and 10 TDs on 135 carries.

The last LSU player to win the Heisman was Joe Burrow during the 2019 season. The other Tigers player to go home with the Heisman was Billy Cannon in 1959.

For the Ducks, Nix has 3,906 passing yards, 37 TDs and two INTs. Penix has thrown for 3,899 yards and 32 TDs, while Milroe has compiled 2,526 passing yards and 21 TDs.

The 2023 Heisman Trophy presentation is scheduled for Saturday, Dec. 9 at 8 p.m. on ESPN.

Last season, USC’s Caleb Williams won the prestigious award. Former Alabama standouts DeVonta Smith and Bryce Young won the Heisman during the 2020 and 2021 seasons, respectively. In the season that RGIII won, he had 4,293 passing yards, 37 passing touchdowns, and 6 interceptions. On the ground, he had 179 rushes for 699 yards and 10 TDs.