The Broyles Award announced its finalists on Monday, and two men squaring off in the SEC Championship game on Saturday are on the list. Alabama offensive coordinator Lane Kiffin and Missouri defensive coordinator Dave Steckel were among the five finalists for the award, given to the nation’s top assistant coach. The award winner will be announced on Dec. 9 in Little Rock.

Kiffin cranked up Alabama’s offense to new heights in his first season with the team, as the Crimson Tide finished in the top 20 in the nation in total offense, scoring offense and 22nd in passing offense. Kiffin helped first-year starter Blake Sims have a phenomenal year at quarterback, while receiver Amari Cooper shattered every school receiving record.

Steckel reloaded a Missouri defense that lost its top two pass rushers a season ago. The Tigers finished No. 10 in the nation in sacks in the regular season, led by a record-setting season from Shane Ray. Missouri finished No. 25 in the country in run defense and were No. 16 in total defense.

The two coaches will test their mettle against each other on Saturday in Atlanta. Alabama’s offense just hung 55 points in the Iron Bowl, while Missouri’s defense has only allowed 300.8 yards in SEC play this season.

The other finalists for the award are Ohio State offensive coordinator Tom Herman, Oregon offensive coordinator Scott Frost and TCO co-offensive coordinator Doug Meacham.

There were five SEC coaches on the original list of 40 nominees, with Mississippi State defensive coordinator Geoff Collins, Arkansas defensive coordinator Robb Smith and Ole Miss defensive coordinator Dave Wommack earning recognition.