It’s official, the NCAA has made the decision to change college football’s overtime rules beginning next season.

Moving forward, all teams will be required to attempt a two-point conversion if they score a touchdown in the second overtime period. The previous rule required teams to attempt a two-point conversion after a touchdown starting with the third overtime period.

Additionally, if a game reaches a third overtime, the game will be decided by a series of alternating two-point conversion attempts. The first time a team converts a two-point play and its opponent fails to do so, the game will end.

Here is the official NCAA announcement regarding the overtime rule changes for the 2021 college football season:

Teams will be required to run a 2-point conversion play after a touchdown when a game reaches a second overtime period. Previously, a 2-point attempt was required after the third overtime period.

Also, if the game reaches a third overtime, teams will run alternating 2-point plays, instead of starting another drive at the opponent’s 25-yard line. This is a change from the previous rule, which started to use 2-point plays in the fifth overtime period.

This rules change is being made to limit the number of plays from scrimmage and bring the game to a quicker conclusion. Teams can still choose whether to kick the point after touchdown or run a 2-point conversion play during the first overtime period.