Alabama and Georgia were the clear top 2 teams in the SEC this season, as both reached the conference championship game. The Crimson Tide and Bulldogs are also among the best in the country, which is why they’re both in the 4-team field for the College Football Playoff.

Neither program likely would have made it this far without Nick Saban and Kirby Smart, as the head coaches have each guided his team to this point. And now, both are earning recognition for that.

Saban and Smart are among the 13 head coaches who have been named finalists for the 2021 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award by the Football Writers Association of America. It’s the most finalists that have ever been named for the annual honor.

The FWAA will now vote for the winner, who will be announced Dec. 20. The award will then be presented at a reception on Jan. 8 in Indianapolis, the site of this year’s College Football Playoff National Championship Game.

Saban is a 2-time winner of the award, while Smart will be looking to win it for the 1st time.

Here’s the full list of the 13 finalists for the honor:

Blake Anderson, Utah State
Dave Aranda, Baylor
Luke Fickell, Cincinnati
Thomas Hammock, Northern Illinois
Jim Harbaugh, Michigan
Billy Napier, Louisiana
Pat Narduzzi, Pittsburgh
Nick Saban, Alabama
Kalani Sitake, BYU
Kirby Smart, Georgia
Jeff Traylor, UTSA
Mel Tucker, Michigan State
Kyle Whittingham, Utah