Alabama’s O.J. Howard, Hunter Henry at Arkansas and Florida’s Jake McGee have been named to the list of eight semifinalists for this year’s Mackey Award, presented to college football’s best tight end.

Henry has caught 37 passes this season for 490 yards and a touchdown. McGee, a redshirt senior in Gaiensville who transferred last season from Virginia, is tied for the team lead in touchdown receptions with three. He’s hauled in 31 passes for 268 yards.

Howard, a preseason All-American according to some outlets, is one of the SEC’s best pass-catching blockers. The junior’s 29 catches this fall nearly exceeds his the total (31) for his career coming into the season.

Razorbacks tight end D.J. Williams is the last SEC player to win the award, doing so in 2010.

2015 Mackey Award Semifinalists

  • Jake Butt (JR, Michigan)
  • Billy Freeman (JR, San Jose State)
  • Hunter Henry (JR, Arkansas)
  • Bucky Hodges (SO, Virginia Tech)
  • Austin Hooper (SO, Stanford)
  • O.J. Howard (JR, Alabama)
  • Jordan Leggett (JR, Clemson)
  • Jake McGee (SR, Florida)