Tennessee’s Josh Heupel received a contract extension through January 2029 that increased his pay to $9 million per year from $5 million. Of course, this comes after Tennessee blitzed to an 11-win season and an Orange Bowl victory over Clemson.

For those counting at home, that makes Heupel the 5th highest-paid coach in the SEC, behind Nick Saban, Kirby Smart, Brian Kelly and Jimbo Fisher. Ole Miss’ Lane Kiffin also makes $9 million per year alongside Huepel.

With that in mind, here’s an updated look at how much each SEC head coach makes per year.

  • Nick Saban, Alabama: $11.7 million
  • Kirby Smart, Georgia: $11.25 million
  • Brian Kelly, LSU: $9.5 million
  • Jimbo Fisher, Texas A&M: $9.5 million
  • Josh Heupel, Tennessee: $9 million
  • Lane Kiffin, Ole Miss: $9 million
  • Mark Stoops, Kentucky: $8.6 million
  • Billy Napier, Florida: $7.2 million
  • Shane Beamer, South Carolina: $6.5 million
  • Hugh Freeze, Auburn: $6.5 million
  • Eli Drinkwitz, Mizzou: $6 million
  • Sam Pittman, Arkansas: $5.25 million
  • Zach Arnett, Mississippi State: $3 million

Vanderbilt does not publicly release Clark Lea’s salary as the school is a private institution.