Will Wade, John Calipari weigh in on controversial final play of LSU's win at Kentucky
The No. 19 LSU Tigers went on the road to No. 5 Kentucky on Tuesday night and scored a big upset over the Wildcats.
However, the ending wasn’t without some controversy, as a put-back by Kavell Bigby-Williams drew some scorn from coach John Calipari, the Wildcats and Big Blue Nation.
As you can see below, Bigby-Williams appeared to touch the ball while it was still in the cylinder, but that’s a call that’s not reviewable:
— SportsCenter (@SportsCenter) February 13, 2019
After the game, LSU coach Will Wade said he hadn’t seen the play, but understands that the rule benefitted the Tigers:
Wade asked about controversial final bucket. Says he hasn’t seen it yet, but it’s his understanding of the rule that only time is reviewable, not whether the ball is still in the cylinder.
— Jeff Drummond (@JDrumUK) February 13, 2019
Coach Cal was less diplomatic, comparing it to a call that cost the Wildcats a trip to the national title game a few years ago:
Cal on basket interference not being reviewable: Says it's like when UK lost to Wisconsin in the Final Four when a clear shot-clock violation was not reviewable, then they changed the rule. "We're like Wilt Chamberlain. We change rules." https://t.co/LaFSW8d0vv
— Kyle Tucker (@KyleTucker_ATH) February 13, 2019
Calipari: "Why would that not be reviewable?" Compared it to when Wisconsin scored on a shot-clock violation in the 2015 Final Four. That rule has since been changed.
— Derek Terry (@DerekSTerry) February 13, 2019
Whatever the case, the Tigers leave Lexington with a win, and have now taken over second place in the SEC standings.