The University of Alabama made history Sunday morning when it was named the top-seeded team the inaugural College Football Playoff.

Alabama will play Ohio State on Jan. 1 in the Sugar Bowl (8:30 p.m., ET).

The other semifinal features No. 2 Oregon against Florida State at 5 p.m. same day. The winners will meet Jan. 12 in Arlington, Texas.

“I really do think that our players are excited about having the opportunity to be one of the teams selected in the final four,” Nick Saban told ESPN. “We knew that whichever team that we’d play in the payoff would be an outstanding team.

“I know what kind of coach Urban Meyer is, what kind of program he has, and the great tradition that they have at Ohio State. They have a great team and this is a great opportunity for our team to play a Big Ten team so we’re looking forward to it.”

Selection committee chairman Jeff Long said that “one, two and three were clear cut” choices, and the Ohio State was a “decisive” choice at No. 4.

Alabama last faced Oho State during the 1994 season, a 24-17 victory in the Citrus Bowl. Overall, the Crimson Tide is 3-0 against the Buckeyes.

However, Crimson Tide fans are very familiar with Meyer, having faced his former team, Florida, in back-to-back SEC Championship games. The Gators won in 2008, but lost in 2009.

Saban won their most recent meeting, 31-6, in 2010.

According to the website the computers used for the Bowl Championship Series rankings ended up with the same four teams at the playoff selection committee, the only change being Florida State ahead of Oregon at No. 2.