Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota added to his trophy collection on Saturday night, taking home the 80th Heisman Trophy in a landslide victory, receiving the third-most first place votes in the award’s history. Alabama receiver Amari Cooper finished third in the voting.

In winning Oregon’s first Heisman, Mariota had the second-highest percentage of possible points received in Heisman history at 90.9 percent after receiving 788 first-place votes. The highest percentage ever was Ohio State’s Troy Smith in 2006.

Mariota put up smashing numbers in 2014. He threw for 3,782 yards and 38 touchdowns against just 2 interception, running for another 669 yards and 14 touchdowns and catching score as well. On Thursday, Mariota won the Walter Camp, Davey O’Brien and Maxwell Awards, honoring his outstanding season. Mariota has led the Ducks to a 12-1 record and a berth in the College Football Playoff. For his career, Mariota has thrown for 101 touchdowns with only 12 interceptions.

Cooper had a record-breaking season for the No. 1 Crimson Tide, setting the Alabama single-season and career catch records, as well as the school’s single-season yardage and touchdown marks and the SEC single-season receptions record, among others. He was honored with the Biletnikoff Award on Thursday, given to the nation’s most outstanding receiver.

Wisconsin running back Melvin Gordon finished between Mariota and Cooper. The Doak Walker Award winner has tallied 2,336 yards and 26 touchdowns to lead the country, also briefly setting the NCAA’s single-game rushing mark with a 408-yard performance against Nebraska in November.


  1. Marcus Mariota, Oregon: 2,543 points (788 first-place votes)
  2. Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin: 1,250 points (37 first-place votes)
  3. Amari Cooper, Alabama: 1,023 points (49 first-place votes)
  4. Trevone Boykin, TCU: 218 points (8 first-place votes)
  5. J.T. Barrett, Ohio State: 78 points