An Arkansas Razorback has finally won the Burlsworth Trophy. Hogs linebacker Grant Morgan the most outstanding college football player who began his career as a walk-on.

The award is named in honor of the late Brandon Burlsworth, a former walk-on who became a three-year starter and an All-American offensive lineman at Arkansas. Burlsworth was selected by the Indianapolis Colts with the 63rd overall pick in the 1999 NFL Draft but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later.

Morgan began his career at Arkansas as a walk-on before emerging as a two-time team captain for the Razorbacks. This season, Morgan ranked second on the Hogs in total tackles (96) and third in tackles for loss (7.0) to go along with 0.5 sacks, three pass breakups and an interception. Morgan’s 8.0 tackles per game rank fifth among all defenders in the SEC this year.

Morgan was recognized during a ceremony on Monday evening at Crystal Bridges Museum in Bentonville, Ark.

Morgan was one of three finalists for this year’s award along with Georgia quarterback Stetson Bennett and Troy linebacker Carlton Martial.

[H/T Arkansas Razorbacks]