Texas A&M missed out on the NCAA Tournament despite a spirited run to the SEC Tournament championship game. But the Aggies’ season is not over.

A&M was one of 4 SEC teams to make the National Invitation Tournament, including Florida, Mississippi State and Vanderbilt. The NIT field has 32 teams. Any team that was a regular-season champion of a DI conference and was not selected to the NCAA Tournament received an automatic bid into the NIT.

The No. 1 seeds in the NIT were the first four out of the NCAA Tournament: Dayton, Oklahoma, SMU and A&M.

Games are scheduled to begin with the first round on March 15 and 16. Action will continue through until March 31. Last year, Memphis beat Mississippi State 77-64 to win the title.

For Vanderbilt, it’s the first time in 5 years the Commodores are in the postseason. Vanderbilt will face intra-city rival Belmont on either Tuesday or Wednesday at Memorial Gymnasium in the first round.

Mississippi State secured its fourth consecutive postseason appearance and will take on Virginia.

They will meet during Wednesday’s NIT Round of 32, and tip time is slated for 6 p.m. CT from the John Paul Jones Arena in Charlottesville, Virginia because of the start of the Humphrey Coliseum renovation. The game will be televised by ESPN2.

Florida will host Iona after the Gaels won the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference regular season title with a 17-3 conference mark. This is the Gators’ 11th all-time appearance in the NIT and first since 2016.

Here are the seedings involving SEC teams and their opponents:

No. 1 Texas A&M vs. Alcorn
No. 3 Mississippi State vs. Virginia
No. 3 Florida vs. Iona
No. 4 Vanderbilt vs. Belmont