Officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl have announced that LSU coach Ed Orgeron is one of the five finalists for the 2019 Dodd Trophy. Finalists include five of the nation’s top coaches in college football who embody the award’s three pillars of scholarship, leadership and integrity, both on and off the field: Orgeron, P.J. Fleck (Minnesota), Matt Rhule (Baylor), Dabo Swinney (Clemson) and Kyle Whittingham (Utah).

Each of the Power Five conferences is represented by one of this year’s finalists. These coaches combined for a 58-6 record this season, including two coaches who led their respective teams to the College Football Playoff. Throughout their careers, the group has a record of 402-206 (.661), with 10 conference championships and two College Football Playoff National Championships.

Orgeron, whose No. 1 LSU Tigers are 13-0 after winning the SEC Championship,  is among four first-time finalists. Swinney won The Dodd Trophy in 2011.

“We couldn’t have assembled a more deserving group of coaches to be honored for this award during the sport’s 150th anniversary season,” Jim Terry, chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation said in the announcement. “Each of these coaches have left a significant mark on their respective programs, and communities.”


Enter your email below and we will send you the LSU records graphic to be used for your phone background.

By adding your email address, you agree to receive emails with LSU football related news. You can unsubscribe at any time.

“The Dodd Trophy is the sport’s most coveted coach of the year award, because it is reserved for the most impactful coaches in all areas of a student-athlete’s success,” Gary Stokan, Peach Bowl, Inc. CEO & president said in the release. “This group has separated itself from the rest of the field this year and together have delivered some of the best moments and stories from a fantastic year of college football.”

Finalists were selected by a panel consisting of all previous winners, national media, a member of the Dodd family and a College Football Hall of Fame member. The winner of the 2019 Dodd Trophy will be announced in Atlanta during bowl week at this year’s College Football Playoff Semifinal at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.