LSU QB Joe Burrow picked up the first of what was expected to many awards on Thursday night in Atlanta when he was given the Walter Camp Player of the Year award. He also received the Associated Press Player of the Year honor.

Burrow is the 53rd recipient of the Walter Camp award, which is voted on by the FBS head coaches and sports information directors. Other finalists for the award were QB Justin Fields (Ohio State), RBs Chuba Hubbard (Oklahoma State) and Jonathan Taylor (Wisconsin) and defensive end Chase Young (Ohio State).

The 2019 SEC Offensive Player of the Year, Burrow (342-of-439, 77.9 percent) has thrown for 4,715 yards and 48 touchdowns – both LSU and SEC single-season records – with only six interceptions. Burrow’s 48 touchdown passes rank first in the nation. Burrow is the ninth player from an SEC school to win the award. Burrow is also the first LSU quarterback to earn Walter Camp First Team All-America honors.

Earlier Thursday, Burrow took home the AP award, the first player in school history to earn the award. The AP Player of the Year has been awarded since 1998 and is given annually to the most outstanding player in college football. The award is voted on by sports writers and sports editors from around the country.

Burrow, who was previously named the winner of the Unitas Golden Arm Award, is also one of four finalists for the the Heisman Trophy.

The No. 1 Tigers will face No. 4 Oklahoma in the CFP National Semifinals on Dec. 28 in Atlanta at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.