Since Dan Mullen’s arrival in 2009, Mississippi State continues putting more players in the NFL year after year, and this year Mullen will add a few others, including stud linebacker Benardrick McKinney, who should be an excellent NFL linebacker.

Over the last 10 years, 2011 was MSU’s biggest year, when the Bulldogs put four players in the NFL draft, including first-round pick Derek Sherrod and Super Bowl winning linebacker KJ Wright.

In addition to McKinney, defensive tackle Preston Smith, safety Justin Cox and offensive guard Ben Beckwith should all be drafted, with Smith projected to be a second-round pick with McKinney.

Mississippi State has produced 17 draft picks over the last decade, including two first-round picks:

2014 (1)
OG Gabe Jackson (Oakland Raiders, 3rd round)

2013 (3)
CB Darius Slay (Detroit Lions, 2nd round)
CB Johnthan Banks (Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2nd round)
DE Josh Boyd (Green Bay Packers, 5th round)

2012 (3)
DT Fletcher Cox (Philadelphia Eagles, 1st round)
RB Vick Ballard (Indianapolis Colts, 5th round)
SS Charles Mitchell (Atlanta Falcons, 6th round)

2011 (4)
OT Derek Sherrod (Green Bay Packers, 1st round)
LB KJ Wright (Seattle Seahawks, 4th round)
DE Pernell McPhee (Baltimore Ravens, 5th round)
LB Chris White (Buffalo Bills, 6th round)

2010 (2)
RB Anthony Dixon (San Francisco 49ers, 6th round)
MLB Jamar Chaney (Philadelphia Eagles, 7th round)

2009 (0)
No players drafted

2008 (0)
No players drafted

2007 (1)
DT Antonio Johnson (Tennessee Titans, 5th round)

2006 (1)
RB Jerious Norwood (Atlanta Falcons, 3rd round)

2005 (2)
OT David Stewart (Tennessee Titans, 4th round)
DT Ronald Fields (San Francisco 49ers, 5th round)