Zach Arnett is preparing for his first season as the head coach at Mississippi State. With the season opener right around the corner, Arnett revealed the permanent captains who will be leading the Bulldogs this fall.

During Wednesday’s SEC teleconference, Arnett explained the criteria for selecting the captains. First-year players had votes worth 1 point, second-year players had a vote worth 2 points and so on. In the end, QB Will Rogers and LB Nathaniel “Bookie” Watson were named the permanent captains.

Arnett also revealed the Bulldogs will rotate 2 additional captains on a weekly basis:

“Will Rogers and Bookie Watson are our 2 captains permanent captains and we will kind of rotate captains of the week, 2 additional captains,” said Arnett. “So either one from either side of the ball, or a special teams guy because we’ve got a pretty veteran group with a lot of guys who are well-respected amongst their teammates.”

As for the distribution of votes, Rogers and Watson were clearly the team-leading vote-getters but a “big chunk of guys” finished with similar vote totals.

“Will and Bookie were the 2 highest vote getters, but then we had a big chunk of guys kind of all got similar vote totals, so that guys us the opportunity to kind of honor those guys, those vets who have done a lot for the program,” Arnett explained. “But then also as we get into the season, too, kind of have an honorary captain of the week if a guy’s playing really at a high level, doing whatever’s best for the team, kind of celebrate and honor those guys as well.”