The Women’s College World Series Championship Series begins on Wednesday night in Oklahoma City.

Florida State will take on the 2-time defending champion Oklahoma Sooners in a best-of-three series. These two teams also met in 2021 in the WCWS championship series, with Oklahoma prevailing in three games.

Since 2018, Oklahoma and Florida State have arguably been the most dominant programs in college softball. They own 19 and 14 wins, respectively, at the Women’s College World Series over that span. UCLA (11) is the only other program with more than 6.

Oklahoma and Florida State also played this season. The Sooners won 5-4 in Norman, although Florida State ace Kathryn Sandercock pitched just 2 innings in that game. Oklahoma ace Jordy Bahl didn’t start, but did earn the save with 3 scoreless innings to close the game. Haley Lee and Tiare Jennings both had 2 RBI in the win.

Both Oklahoma and FSU swept through the Women’s College World Series field to get to the champ series. The Sooners defeated Stanford twice and shutout Tennessee. FSU also beat the Vols and took care of business against Oklahoma State and Washington.

Game 1 will be the 18th all-time meeting between these programs.

Here is the full schedule for the week along with TV information:

Game 1 — Wednesday, June 7

  • No. 1 Oklahoma vs. No. 3 Florida State | 8 p.m. | ESPN

Game 2 — Thursday, June 8

  • No. 1 Oklahoma vs. No. 3 Florida State | 7:30 p.m. | ESPN

Game 3 — Friday, June 9

  • No. 1 Oklahoma vs. No. 3 Florida State  (if necessary) | 8 p.m. | ESPN