You probably saw the highlight of the day from Central Michigan and Oklahoma State but if the play was all you saw, you are missing some important context. Yes, CMU’s miraculous final play was legal but the lead up to it was not.
Oklahoma State held the ball on the previous play, a fourth down, and was flagged for intentional grounding as the game clock expired. Because Oklahoma State was flagged, the refs gave Central Michigan the ball for one last untimed down, which turned out to be the wild play that ended the game.
According to FOX Sports’ rules expert Mike Pereira, former Vice President of Officiating for the NFL, the refs made a mistake on the play.
Rule 3-2-3. "The period is not extended if the foul is by the team and possession and the penalty includes loss of down." Oops.
— Mike Pereira (@MikePereira) September 10, 2016
The rule Pereira mentions can be found here:
From the NCAA rule book regarding untimed downs: pic.twitter.com/piB4p2oAmR
— Paul Myerberg (@PaulMyerberg) September 10, 2016
Incredibly tough break for Oklahoma State, as the refs clearly cost the Cowboys a victory.
When asked after the game what he thought should happen, head coach Mike Gundy shared his thoughts after hearing the correct ruling of the play.
“I’m guessing we win the game, I’m not sure,” Gundy said. “It’s not like there’s four seconds left on the play… I’m not sure (what will come of the ref’s error).”
A graduate of the University of Tennessee, Michael Wayne Bratton oversees the news coverage for Saturday Down South. Michael previously worked for FOX Sports and NFL.com