On Wednesday, the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced 26 semifinalists as candidates to be inducted into the 2022 class.

Each of the semifinalists recognized is categorized as a modern-era player, and there were 5 former SEC stars who made the list.

Representing the SEC were Fred Taylor (Florida), Hines Ward (Georgia), Patrick Willis (Ole Miss), Richard Seymour (Georgia), and Willie Anderson (Auburn).

To be nominated, a player must not have participated as an active player for at least five consecutive seasons.

Among the other notable names on the list include former Ohio State star Eddie George and former Miami standout Devin Hester, one of the best return men in NFL history.

The current list of 26 payers will be trimmed to 15 before final voting takes place.

Here is the complete list of semifinalists:

  • Eric Allen
  • Jared Allen
  • Willie Anderson
  • Ronde Barber
  • Anquan Boldin
  • Tony Boselli
  • LeRoy Butler
  • Eddie George
  • Devin Hester
  • Torry Holt
  • Andre Johnson
  • Robert Mathis
  • Sam Mills
  • Richard Seymour
  • Steve Smith
  • Steve Tasker
  • Fred Taylor
  • Zach Thomas
  • Hines Ward
  • DeMarcus Ware
  • Ricky Watters
  • Reggie Wayne
  • Vince Wilfork
  • Patrick Willis
  • Darren Woodson
  • Bryant Young