Ole Miss made history on Sunday, and the Rebels delivered a come-from-behind victory over Oklahoma in the College World Series to win its first ever national championship.

The Rebels, who were the last team in the 64-team NCAA Tournament, and dealt with criticism directed toward coach Mike Bianco, reached the top of the sport with a 4-2 victory over Oklahoma to sweep the best-of-three series. The Rebels bounced back from a rough stretch late in the regular season after they were ranked No. 1 in the country earlier in the season.

Momentum shifted in the sixth inning when Oklahoma’s John Spikerman was called out on a bunt play where the umpires ruled that he interfered with the throw at first base. It wiped a run off the board in the scoreless game. Then an inning later, Ole Miss launched a home run to right field off the bat by Jacob Gonzalez. The action came before a crowd of 25,908 at Charles Schwab Field in Omaha.

But the Sooners tied the game with an RBI double in the seventh inning, and then took the lead when Ole Miss walked in a run. However, the Rebels got out of the jam with a strikeout to leave the bases loaded. Yet Ole Miss clawed back in the eighth inning thanks to a pair of wild pitches and miscommunication between Oklahoma’s battery.

Oklahoma got a big outing from Cade Horton on the mound, as he went 7 1/3 innings and collected a career-high 13 strikeouts in the victory. Hunter Elliott countered for Ole Miss, and went 6 2/3 innings, struck out 6, walked 2 and allowed 2 runs.

In Game 1 of the best-of-three series, Jack Dougherty pitched a perfect game into the sixth inning in his first start in nearly 3 months, and he got major run support in the eighth inning when the Rebels hit 3 home runs in a row in the eighth, and they went on to beat Oklahoma 10-3.