You know football is just around the corner in Oxford when Ole Miss names its annual Chucky Mullins Courage Award winner.

Heading into the first season under head coach Lane Kiffin, the Rebels have announced senior defensive back Jaylon Jones has been named the 2020 Chucky Mullins Courage Award winner and will wear Mullins’ No. 38 jersey this season in Oxford.

This annual tradition at Ole Miss honors the late Chucky Mullins, who had his playing career cut short due to a devastating injury that left him paralyzed back in 1989. Tragically, Mullins later passed away in the spring of 1991 after returning as a student to Ole Miss.

Last season, Jones appeared in 10 games, making four starts for the Rebels after suffering a season-ending injury in the 2018 season opener. Last fall, Jones totaled 33 tackles with five pass breakups and four tackles for loss.

The Texas native has previously been honored for his play on the field (he was named to multiple 2016 Freshman All-American teams) and off it (2018 Dean’s Fall Honor Roll and 2018 SEC Fall Academic Honor Roll) and found out during a Thursday team meeting that he has been selected as the new No. 38 in Oxford.

Ole Miss issued the following video to celebrate Jones’ honor of being named the 2020 Chucky Mullins Courage Award winner.