Georgia’s defense has been dominant in 2021. The Bulldogs are allowing only 7.6 points and 236 total yards per game, both of which rank 1st in the country.

So it’s no surprise that Georgia defensive coordinator Dan Lanning is among the 15 assistant coaches who were named semifinalists for the Broyles Award on Tuesday. And with how well the Bulldogs’ defense has fared, Lanning may have a good chance of winning this accolade.

The Broyles Award is given annually to the top assistant coach in college football. It was first awarded in 1996, and it is named after former Arkansas athletic director Frank Broyles.

The list of 15 semifinalists will soon be trimmed to 5 finalists, who all will be invited to a 2-day event in Little Rock, Ark., from Dec. 6-7. The winner will be announced during the luncheon on Dec. 7.

Here are the 15 semifinalists for this year’s award (SEC coaches in bold):

Arkansas offensive line coach Cody Kennedy
Baylor offensive coordinator/tight ends coach Jeff Grimes
Cincinnati offensive coordinator/tight ends coach Mike Denbrock
Georgia defensive coordinator/outside linebackers coach Dan Lanning
Houston associate head coach/defensive coordinator/safeties coach Doug Belk
Iowa defensive coordinator/defensive backs coach Phil Parker
Michigan offensive coordinator/wide receivers coach Josh Gattis
Ohio State offensive coordinator Kevin Wilson
Oklahoma State defensive coordinator Jim Knowles
Ole Miss offensive coordinator/quarterbacks coach Jeff Lebby
Pittsburgh offensive coordinator/quarterbacks coach Mark Whipple
Texas A&M defensive coordinator/safeties coach Mike Elko
UTSA co-defensive coordinator Jess Loepp
Wake Forest offensive coordinator/quarterbacks coach Warren Ruggiero
Wisconsin defensive coordinator/safeties coach Jim Leonhard