Since 1995, the Chuck Bednarik Award has been given to the top defensive player in college football each season. It’s been a few years since an SEC player has received the honor, though, as Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen was the most recent player from the conference to win it in 2018.

But it’s quite possible that the Bednarik Award will be going to an SEC defensive standout in 2021. On Monday, the Maxwell Football Club announced the 18 semifinalists for this year’s award, and 6 of them are from the SEC.

Georgia is ranked No. 1 in the country and has the best defense in the nation, so it’s not a surprise that it’s the only school with more than 1 player in the running for the Bednarik Award. Both defensive tackle Jordan Davis and linebacker Nakobe Dean are on the list of semifinalists.

Here are the 18 semifinalists for the award (with SEC players in bold):

Will Anderson, LB, Alabama
Roger McCreary, CB, Auburn
Ahmad Gardner, CB, Cincinnati
Jermaine Johnson, DE, Florida State
Jordan Davis, DT, Georgia
Nakobe Dean, LB, Georgia
Aidan Hutchinson, DE, Michigan
Kyle Hamilton, S, Notre Dame
Nik Bonitto, LB, Oklahoma
Kayvon Thibodeaux, LB, Oregon
Jaquan Brisker, S, Penn State
George Karlaftis, DE, Purdue
Cameron Thomas, DE, San Diego State
Kingsley Enagbare, DE, South Carolina
DeMarvin Leal, DT, Texas A&M
Devin Lloyd, LB, Utah
Leo Chenal, LB, Wisconsin
Chad Muma, LB, Wyoming