Heading into the 2019 season, seven SEC defenders are receiving some recognition for their play on the field as well as their character. The Lott IMPACT (Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity) Trophy recently revealed its preseason watchlist of 42 defenders, including seven from the SEC.

Named for Pro Football Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, the trophy boasts of being the “first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.” The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career (the IMPACT acronym above).

Before a snap of the 2019 season is played, the voting panel voting panel – former winners and finalists, former coaches and players, members of the media and the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation – should have some familiarity with the SEC defenders below (listed alphabetically by last name):

  • Auburn DT Derrick Brown
  • Mizzou LB Cale Garrett
  • Georgia S Richard LeCounte III
  • LSU DT Rashard Lawrence
  • Texas A&M DL Justin Madubuike
  • Alabama LB Dylan Moses
  • Florida DE Jabari Zuniga

Kentucky’s Josh Allen won the award last season. Other SEC winners include David Pollack (Georgia, 2004), DeMeco Ryans (Alabama, 2005) and Glenn Dorsey (LSU, 2007).