Several players from the SEC were named semifinalists Friday for the 2014 William V. Campbell Trophy according to the league office.

The award ‘recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation.’

Eight players from SEC programs have made the cut out of 62 total FBS student-athlete semifinalists:

  • Alabama – Arie Kouandjio
  • Arkansas – Alan D’Appollonio
  • Georgia – Chris Conley
  • Kentucky – Tyler Brause
  • Ole Miss – Deterrian Shackelford
  • Missouri – Matt Hoch
  • South Carolina – Damiere Byrd
  • Texas A&M – Josh Lambo