Get ready, SEC fans. The offseason is in full swing, and the first taste we’ll have of SEC football comes this spring.

While many SEC players are heading to the NFL, several others will return to the conference in 2020. ESPN’s Chris Low released his Way-Too-Early All-America Team Thursday morning, and nine SEC players made the cut on the first team.

On offense, receivers Ja’Marr Chase (LSU) and DeVonta Smith (Alabama) and linemen Trey Smith (Tennessee) and Alex Leatherwood (Alabama) made the first team. That group is obviously headlined by Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence and running back Travis Etienne.

Defensively, three SEC players made the cut: Dylan Moses (Alabama), Richard LeCounte (Georgia) and Derek Stingley (LSU). Two players — Kentucky’s Max Duffy and Alabama’s Jaylen Waddle — were also named as first-team specialists.

Out of anyone on this early All-America Team, including Lawrence, LSU’s Derek Stingley may be the best overall player at his position. He’s primed to become a top NFL Draft pick in 2022.

Below is Low’s full team with SEC players bolded:


QB: Trevor Lawrence, Clemson
RB: Travis Etienne, Clemson
RB: Chuba Hubbard, Oklahoma State
WR: Ja’Marr Chase, LSU
WR: DeVonta Smith, Alabama
TE: Pat Freiermuth, Penn State
T: Penei Sewell, Oregon
G: Wyatt Davis, Ohio State
C: Creed Humphrey, Oklahoma
G: Trey Smith, Tennessee
T: Alex Leatherwood, Alabama
All-purpose: Kenneth Gainwell, Memphis


DE: Gregory Rousseau, Miami
DT: Marvin Wilson, Florida State
DT: Jaylen Twyman, Pittsburgh
DE: Kayvon Thibodeaux, Oregon
LB: Micah Parsons, Penn State
LB: Dylan Moses, Alabama
LB: Hamilcar Rashed Jr., Oregon State
S: Richard LeCounte, Georgia
S: Andre Cisco, Syracuse
CB: Derek Stingley Jr., LSU
CB: Shaun Wade, Ohio State


PK: Nick Sciba, Wake Forest
P: Max Duffy, Kentucky
KR: Jaylen Waddle, Alabama