Watch list season continues looking ahead to the upcoming college football season and the latest such watch list comes from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation.

While players from around the nation are honored by watch lists this time of year, the head coaches from around the league also get some recognition thanks to the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation, which annually names a coach of the year in college football.

“The Dodd Trophy is the most coveted coach of the year award because it looks beyond just the results on the field and measures the overall impact these coaches have had on their players, universities and communities,” said Jim Terry, chairman of the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation. “When determining candidates for the watch list, we carefully consider each coach’s commitment to the award’s three pillars of scholarship, leadership and integrity.”

This preseason, five SEC coaches made the list among the 23 total on the watch list:

Nick Saban – Alabama
Gus Malzahn – Auburn
Dan Mullen – Florida
Kirby Smart – Georgia
Jimbo Fisher – Texas A&M

In addition to those league coaches, these coaches from around the nation made the watch list for the coach of the year honor:

Dino Babers – Syracuse
Matt Campbell -Iowa State
Paul Chryst – Wisconsin
Kirk Ferentz – Iowa
Pat Fitzgerald – Northwestern
James Franklin – Penn State
Scott Frost – Nebraska
Jim Harbaugh – Michigan
Bryan Harsin – Boise State
Tom Herman – Texas
Josh Heupel – UCF
Brian Kelly – Notre Dame
Jeff Monken – Army
Chris Petersen – Washington
Lincoln Riley – Oklahoma
David Shaw – Stanford
Dabo Swinney – Clemson
Kyle Whittingham – Utah