The votes are in, Kyler Murray is the winner of the 2018 Heisman Trophy.

The Oklahoma quarterback is the 81st player to ever win the annual award, which has been given out every year dating back to 1935. The announcement was made live on ESPN Saturday night from the PlayStation Theater in Times Square in New York City.

Murray won the voting over Tagovailoa with Ohio State’s Dwayne Haskins finishing a distant third.

Kyler Murray becomes the 16th quarterback to win the Heisman since 2000. The only players to win the award since that time that were not QBs all played the same position — running back: Alabama’s Mark Ingram (2009) and Derrick Henry (2015) and USC’s Reggie Bush (2004).

Kyle Murray follows in the footsteps of the quarterback he played behind last season, Baker Mayfield, who won the trophy this time last year. They become the first teammates to win the Heisman in back-to-back seasons since 2003-2004, when Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush won the award.

With Murray’s win, seven Oklahoma players have now won the award.

Murray completed 70.9 percent of his passes this season with 4,053 passing yards with 40 touchdowns to only seven interceptions. He also rushed for 379 yards and three scores. He led Oklahoma to a 12-1 record and the Big 12 Championship.

It will be fascinating to see if this result adds any extra fuel to the fire for Alabama and Oklahoma’s upcoming Orange Bowl/College Football Playoff semifinal game. Three weeks from Saturday, the top two Heisman vote-getters for the award will face off for the right to play for the National Championship Game.