It’s been nearly a decade since a team from the SEC East won the SEC Championship game, and despite Georgia’s undefeated start to the season, the divisional balance is still squarely in the SEC West.

Already this season, the SEC West has clinched a ninth straight victory for the division with the most wins in the league. Save for Georgia beating Mississippi State and South Carolina beating Arkansas, it’s a clean sweep for the SEC West, 8-2.

It’s hard to believe that six of the first seven SEC Championships were won by either Florida or Tennessee.

Lately, the SEC West representative, be it Alabama, Auburn or LSU has won every title tilt since Florida took the trophy in 2008.

The SEC East would go a long way toward bringing some semblance of balance to the league if it had the kind of stars of yesteryear, like Terry Dean, Peyton Manning, Peerless Price, David Greene and D.J. Shockley.