Eight of the last 10 Heisman Trophy winners have been quarterbacks. The other two (Mark Ingram and Derrick Henry) have been Alabama running backs.

To find the last non-QB and non-RB to win the prestigious award, you have to go all the way back to 1997, when Michigan DB/PR Charles Woodson took home the trophy.

Fiery Sweet Wing Sauce
Aged cayenne peppers bring the heat, while molasses and honey inject the sweet into our Fiery Sweet Wing Sauce. For a dash of daring deliciousness, give it a shot.

Basically, you have an inside track on the award if you’re a quarterback, but other players do have a chance. This week, Sports Illustrated put together a list of 117 players it believes have a chance to win the Heisman in 2019. As you can see below, 25 SEC players make the list (including every starting quarterback):

  • Tua Tagovailoa, QB, Alabama
  • Jake Fromm, QB, Georgia
  • Joe Burrow, QB, LSU
  • Feleipe Franks, QB, Florida
  • Kellen Mond, QB, Texas A&M
  • Kelly Bryant, QB, Mizzou
  • Jake Bentley, QB, South Carolina
  • Joey Gatewood and Bo Nix, QBs, Auburn
  • Tommy Stevens and Keytaon Thompson, QBs, Mississippi State
  • Jarrett Guarantano, QB, Tennessee
  • Terry Wilson, QB, Kentucky
  • Ben Hicks, QB, Arkansas
  • Matt Corral, QB, Ole Miss
  • Riley Neal, QB, Vanderbilt
  • D’Andre Swift, RB, Georgia
  • Najee Harris, RB, Alabama
  • Lamical Perine, RB, Florida
  • Rakeem Boyd, RB, Arkansas
  • John Emery Jr., RB, LSU
  • Trey Sanders, RB, Alabama
  • Jerrion Ealy, RB, Ole Miss
  • Jerry Jeudy, WR, Alabama
  • Grant Delpit, S, LSU

Of course, college football is unpredictable, so we can’t wait for someone not on this list to take home the trophy.