An SEC coach has won the George Munger Award twice in the last three years and three times in the last half decade. The conference has a decent chance to have a coach win it again in 2019.

LSU’s Ed Orgeron, Georgia’s Kirby Smart and Florida’s Dan Mullen each became semifinalists for the George Munger Award on Wednesday. Smart and Mullen are each trying to become just the third coach to win the award multiple times.

Orgeron is probably the front runner from the SEC for the coaching award, though, as he’s led LSU to a 10-0 mark behind a transformed offense and Heisman Trophy candidate Joe Burrow. LSU will clinch the SEC West title with a victory against Arkansas this weekend.

Smart and the Georgia Bulldogs have already sealed the SEC East. Georgia has lost just once this season, a double overtime defeat against South Carolina. But since then, the Bulldogs have posted two shutouts and beaten a pair of hated rivals away from Athens.

Florida enters this week 9-2, and its only two losses are to LSU and Georgia. The 9-2 start to the season is Florida’s best since 2015.

The George Munger Award has been given annually to the nation’s top head coach in the FBS since 1989. Three finalists for the award will be released in late November or early December with the winner announced on Dec. 29.

Mullen (with Mississippi State) and Smart won the award in 2014 and 2017, respectively. Penn State’s Joe Paterno and Virginia Tech’s Frank Beamer are the only coaches who have won the award twice.

Among the Power 5 conferences, the SEC’s three semifinalists for the George Munger Award ranks second. The B1G leads the Power 5 conferences with four semifinalists.

Check out the entire list of semifinalists below (in alphabetical order by school):

  • Troy Calhoun, Air Force
  • Eli Drinkwitz, Appalachian State
  • Matt Rhule, Baylor
  • Bryan Harsin, Boise State
  • Jim McElwain, Central Michigan
  • Luke Fickell, Cincinnati
  • Dabo Swinney, Clemson
  • Dan Mullen, Florida
  • Kirby Smart, Georgia
  • Tom Allen, Indiana
  • Scott Satterfield, Louisville
  • Ed Orgeron, LSU
  • Mike Norvell, Memphis
  • P.J. Fleck, Minnesota
  • Ken Niumatalolo, Navy
  • Ryan Day, Ohio State
  • Lincoln Riley, Oklahoma
  • Mario Cristobal, Oregon
  • James Franklin, Penn State
  • Rocky Long, San Diego State
  • Sonny Dykes, SMU
  • Kyle Whittingham, Utah