The last few minutes of the Gator Bowl was wild, to say the least.

Notre Dame led, 38-31, with 7 minutes and 42 seconds remaining in the 4th quarter and the ball at the South Carolina 7. But Tyler Eichner’s pass to the end zone was intercepted and taken back 100 yards by O’Donnell Fortune as the Gamecocks knotted things up at 38.

The Fighting Irish, though, cashed in on their ensuing possession as Eichner led a 12-play, 80-yard drive capped by a 16-yard touchdown pass to Mitchell Evans as they went up 45-38.

That left it to South Carolina, but the Gamecocks simply couldn’t get out of their own way.

The ensuing kickoff saw Shane Beamer’s team whistled for an illegal block in the back that wiped out a nice return by Xavier Legette. A few plays later, the Irish weren’t called for having 12 men on the field — along with numerous issues with the clock — but were able to call timeout, which upset SC fans. But Spencer Rattler didn’t do himself any favors by picking up an intentional grounding penalty, with Juju McDowell later called for unsportsmanlike conduct for trying to pull a Notre Dame player off of Rattler with the Irish looking to run off as much time as they could.

Ultimately, a 4th-and-36 pass was unsuccessful as the Irish held on to win the highest-scoring Gator Bowl in history.