The NCAA softball tournament 2021 is underway. 64 teams entered the tournament which began on May 21, 2021. The teams were selected from 31 automatic qualifications for teams that won their respective conferences plus an additional 33 teams that were selected as “at-large” teams to make the tournament.

The final 8 teams are now set for the Women’s College World Series after the Super Regional round ended on Sunday. The eight teams that will move on are: Oklahoma, UCLA, Alabama, Oklahoma State, Florida State, Arizona, Georgia and James Madison.

In the final round of 8, there are two four-team brackets of double elimination. The winner of each four-team pool will then move on to face each other in a three-game series to determine the national champion. You can see the bracket that shows the NCAA softball tournament 2021 schedule from here on:

When are the next games? Games begin on Thursday, June 3. All eight teams will be in action as follows:

  • Oklahoma vs. James Madison: 12 p.m. on ESPN
  • Georgia vs. Oklahoma State: 3:30 p.m. on ESPN
  • Alabama vs. Arizona: 7:00 p.m. on ESPN
  • Florida State vs. UCLA: 9:30 p.m. on ESPN

Games will then continue through the championship games on June 7-9, 2021.

NCAA Softball Tournament 2021 Schedule: The Super Regionals

Each Super Regional in the NCAA softball tournament was a best-of-3 series. Here are the results:

Florida State advances – wins 2-0 over LSU
UCLA advances – wins 2*1over Virginia Tech
Alabama advances – wins 2-0 over Kentucky
Oklahoma advances – wins 2-0 over Washington
Oklahoma State advances – wins 2-1 over Texas
Georgia advances – wins 2-0 over Florida
Arizona advances – wins 2-0 over Arkansas
James Madison advances – wins 2-1 over Missouri

NCAA Softball Tournament History

Who are the previous national championships determined by the NCAA softball tournament in recent years? Here are a list of the recent winners of the annual softball tournament:

  • 2020: No tournament because of COVID-19
  • 2019: UCLA
  • 2018: Florida State
  • 2017: Oklahoma
  • 2016: Oklahoma
  • 2015: Florida
  • 2014: Florida
  • 2013: Oklahoma
  • 2012: Alabama
  • 2011: Arizona State
  • 2010: UCLA
  • 2009: Washington