Texas A&M has a long history in football, dating back to the late-1800s and spanning three different conference affiliations. Which teams stand out as the greatest Aggies units of all time? Here are our top five Texas A&M teams.

5. 2012 (11-2): Texas A&M’s first season in the SEC is as memorable as any in school history. While there’s a national champion we’re squeezing off the list, the 1927 team, Kevin Sumlin’s first Aggies team was too much of a juggernaut to leave off. Texas A&M dropped its SEC opener to Florida, but showed it can hang with the SEC’s best. They proceeded to take the conference by storm, putting up 44.5 points per game for the season while bringing home a Cotton Bowl crown at the end of the season. The season was, of course, orchestrated by Johnny Football’s brilliance.

Notable: Johnny Manziel became just the second Heisman winner in school history and was the first freshman to win the award.

Best players: QB Manziel (Heisman Trophy, All-American), WR Mike Evans (All-American), LT Jake Matthews (All-American), DE Damontre Moore (All-American)

Memorable game: Texas A&M rolled into Bryant-Denny Stadium to take on No. 1 Alabama as the SEC hot shot going up against the defending national champions. The Aggies jumped out to a 20-0 lead and held on, 29-24. Manziel kept countless plays alive with his legs in a game that vaulted him to the top of Heisman ballots and proved Texas A&M was for real.

4. 1956 (9-0-1): Bear Bryant’s best team at Texas A&M was a domineering unit. The team ranked near the top of the country in both offense (22nd) and defense (11th) despite playing one of the toughest schedules in the nation. The team had seven All-SWC selections, along with three All-Americans.

Notable: The No. 5 ranking the Aggies finished with was the highest in school history since the 1939 national championship, and remains tied for the second-highest final ranking in school history.

Best players: FB Jack Pardee (All-American), HB John David Crow (future Heisman winner), OT Charlie Krueger (All-American)

Memorable game: The toughest game of the Aggies season came against a future SEC rival, LSU. In the second week of the season, A&M traveled to Baton Rouge to take on the unranked Tigers in Tiger Stadium. John David Crow helped lead the Aggies to a hard-fought 9-6 victory.

3. 1992 (12-1): R.C. Slocum’s 1992 team came as close as any A&M unit since 1939 to win a national championship. The team rolled through the regular season undefeated, and only four opponents even kept the final margin to single digits as the Aggies swept through the Southwest Conference. The only loss that season came in the Cotton Bowl, when TAMU fell to Lou Holtz’s Notre Dame team.

Notable: Slocum never settled on a full-time quarterback all season, with Granger and freshman Corey Pullig throwing an almost identical number of passes for the season.

Best players: DB Aaron Glenn, RB Greg Hil

Memorable game: The Aggies’ season opener against Stanford, played in Anaheim, Calif., was a game many had circled on their calendars. Playing against nationally ranked Stanford, the game marked the return to college football for legendary San Francisco 49ers coach Bill Walsh, who had previously coached Stanford in the 1970s. It was an ugly game, in which Slocum cycled through all three of his quarterbacks before coming back to starter Jeff Granger, but A&M held on for a 10-7 win.

2. 1919 (10-0): There might be no better defense in school history than the 1919 national champions. The Aggies went unbeaten, untied and, most impressively, un-scored-upon. That’s right: Texas A&M outscored its opponents 275-0 for the season, never yielding a single point. It was actually they second time in three years they pulled the feat, although this one resulted in a national title, unlike 1917.

Notable: The 1919 team earned the first recognized national championship in school history.

1. 1939 (11-0): The last national championship team in school history was a dominating unit. As was par for the course among national champions back in this era, these Aggies yielded points quite infrequently; they pitched six shutouts and allowed a paltry average of 2.8 points per game. After starting the season unranked, A&M rose to No. 1 after its fifth shutout of the season and held that position through the end of the year.

Notable: The Aggies honored the 1939 team with a stellar set of throwback uniforms in 2014.

Best player: HB John Kimbrough (All-American)

Memorable game: Texas A&M didn’t face many challenges in ’39, but in the Sugar Bowl they faced their stiffest opponent. No. 5 Tulane, playing a de facto home game in the Sugar Bowl, pulled ahead of the Aggies, 13-7, early in the fourth quarter. Texas A&M blocked the extra point, and Kimbrough responded with his second rushing touchdown of the game to deliver the national championship.