SEC fines Texas A&M $50,000 for rushing field after LSU win
Texas A&M finally won an SEC game over LSU and the ensuing celebration ended up costing the school $50,000.
Why? If you were unaware, the SEC fines schools when fans storm the field. That’s what happened after Texas A&M beat LSU 74-72 after seven overtimes of play. The SEC announced the fine for Texas A&M on Monday.
The league issued the following message in regards to the fine:
Texas A&M will be assessed a fine for violation of the Southeastern Conference access to competition area policy, due to fans entering the field following its football game against Louisiana State University on November 24.
Also, the Conference remains in contact with the participating institutions related the reported postgame altercation between football staff members and has re-emphasized the expectations for sportsmanship before, during and after SEC athletics contests.
Texas A&M will incur a fine of $50,000 for its first offense under the Conference’s current policy prohibiting fan access to the competition area.
Fines levied against schools for violation of the access to competition area policy are deposited into the SEC Post-Graduate Scholarship Fund.
SEC schools unanimously approved the policy which requires fines to be applied when spectators enter the playing field after a game. The policy states that “access to competition areas shall be limited to participating student-athletes, coaches, officials, support personnel and properly-credentialed individuals at all times. For the safety of participants and spectators alike, at no time before, during or after a contest shall spectators be permitted to enter the competition area. It is the responsibility of each member institution to implement procedures to ensure compliance with this policy.”
Financial penalties, which were increased by action taken during the 2015 SEC Spring Meetings, are imposed for violations in all sports sponsored by the Conference. Institutional penalties range from $50,000 for a first offense to fines of up to $100,000 for a second offense and up to $250,000 for a third and subsequent offenses. The policy was originally adopted in 2004.