The Tennessee Volunteers will face the Iowa Hawkeyes in the TaxSlayer Bowl on Jan. 2 in Jacksonville, Fla. The Hawkeyes have prior experience facing SEC teams in bowl games, entering Friday’s game with a 3-3 record in six appearances — excluding a matchup against Missouri, who was still a member of the Big 12 in 2010. Here’s a look at Iowa’s postseason success against the SEC.

1982 Peach Bowl vs. Tennessee: Fittingly, Iowa’s first matchup against an SEC team will be the same opponent as its upcoming game. The Hawkeyes faced the Vols in the 1982 Peach Bowl, capturing a 28-22 victory. Quarterback Chuck Long went 14-of-17 in first half passes to help Iowa hold a 21-7 halftime lead.  Despite a late-game rally by Tennessee, Iowa held on to take the win.

2004 Outback Bowl vs. Florida: The No. 13 Hawkeyes defeated the No. 15 Florida Gators 37-17 in the 2004 Outback Bowl. Quarterback Nathan Chandler threw for 170 yards and a touchdown on 13-of-25 passing, while also rushing for a score. Fred Russell rushed for 150 yards and a touchdown on 21 attempts. Sean Considine had nine tackles to lead a Hawkeyes defense that held the Gators to 57 rushing yards in what was Iowa’s first January bowl win since 1959.

2005 Capital One Bowl vs. LSU: The No. 11 Hawkeyes defeated No. 12 LSU 30-25 in Orlando. The Tigers took the lead on a late touchdown pass by Jamarcus Russell to Skyler Green. However, Iowa answered with a 56-yard game-winning pass from Drew Tate to Warren Holloway as time expired. Tate threw for 287 yards, two touchdowns and two interceptions on 20-of-32 passing. Ed Hinkel caught 10 of his passes for 93 yards.